Sea-Hawks Curling Teams Head to AUS Championships

Sea-Hawks Curling Teams Head to AUS Championships

The Subway 2018 AUS Curling Championships get started Thursday evening in Fredericton, NB at the Capital Winter Club. The event, presented by Atlantic University Sport and Curling Canada features 13 teams from Atlantic Canada, 6 men's and 7 women's clubs.

Memorial has entered teams in both the men's and women's divisions. The Sea-Hawks men's team won the AUS Championship last season and would go on to also win the U Sports National Championship, finishing with a perfect 17-0 record on the season.

On the women's side, the team is led by skip Rebecca Roberts. Other members include Chantal Newell, Lauren Barron, and Stephanie Nadeau. They are coached by Wallace Gregory. The men's team is skipped by Greg Blyde and includes Liam Gregory, Kyle Barron, and Ian Withycombe. Their coach is Craig Withycombe.  Ian Withycombe is also a member of Team Newfoundland and will be competing at next month's Brier. 

The Memorial women's team will play their first match in Draw #1 versus UNB at 1:30pm AST on Thursday. The men play their first match in Draw #2 against StFX at 6:30pm AST. A full tournament schedule is available here -

Three of the men's and three of the women's teams from this event will go on to represent the AUS in the 2018 U Sports / CCA Curling Championship hosted by the University of Alberta in March. More information on the event can be found at