Sea-Hawks race in AUS Championship

This weekend the Sea-Hawks cross country teams competed at the 2012 Subway AUS Championship with the men finishing on the podium in third overall and the women finishing fourth. Caroline McIlroy and Graham MacDonald both earn AUS all-star honours and will now compete at the upcoming CIS Championship on November 10th at Western University.


Women's Cross Country

On Saturday afternoon the women's cross country team were led by Caroline McIlroy as they finished in fourth overall among the field of eight universities and 52 runners at the AUS Championship meet in Halifax.


Caroline McIlroyMcIlroy earned her second straight AUS all-star honour finishing in third overall on the five kilometer course through Point Pleasant Park. Her time was 18:16, which was 20 seconds behind the overall winner, Frida Aspnaes of UNB.


The Memorial team finished fourth overall with an average time of 20:39 among the top-five team finishers. The overall team champion was St. FX followed by Dalhousie and UNB.


Rookie Amanda Wilkins was the second Memorial runner across the line, cracking the top twenty in her first championship race with a time of 20:30. Fourth year Victoria Ralph finished on her heels, only four seconds back, to finish in 22nd place.


Memorial's other finishers were Justine O'Leary (28th place), Melanie Amminson (35th place), Shalane Spurrell (39th place) and Dwan Street (41st place).


St. FX runner Melissa Hardy, a native of Deer Lake, earned AUS all-star honours with her fourth overall finish. The top seven overall finishers earn a place on the conference all-star team.


The St. FX coach Bernie Chilsom was named the AUS Coach of the Year while UNB's Aspnaes was named the AUS Cross Country Female Athlete of the Year.


McIlroy will now represent Memorial for the second consecutive year at the CIS Championship which will be held on November 10th at Western University in London, Ontario.




Men's Cross Country

The Memorial men's cross country team raced their way to a third place podium finish at the AUS Championship in Point Pleasant Park in Halifax on Saturday afternoon. Graham MacDonald led Memorial with a seventh overall time of 33:16 on the ten kilometre course.


Graham MacDonaldMacDonald's performance earned his way on the AUS all-star team which secures his entry into the CIS Championship meet at Western University on November 10th. The top seven finishers earn all-star nods.


Mark Hayward was the second Sea-Hawks across the line, cracking the top fifteen, with a time of 34:40.


Rudy Riedlsperger came across the line in 23rd place with a time of 35:55. He was followed by Connor Bolton and Adam Dyke who finished in 24th and 25th place. Bolton and Dyke were separated by only five seconds with times of 36:38 and 36:43 respectively.


Memorial's other runners were Landon Fisher (29th place) and Nick Snow (31st place).


The average time for the top five Memorial runners was 35:26.


AUS Cross Country Male Athlete of the Year, Connor McGuire of St. FX won the individual championship, leading his team to the overall title. Dalhousie finished in second place.


The field included seven AUS universities and 48 runners.


MUN 2012 Cross Country