Sea-Hawks cross country race in AUS Championship

(Oct. 26, 2013) The Memorial University cross country teams competed in the AUS Championship with the women finishing fifth overall, led by Caroline’s McIlroy’s fourth overall finish, and the men claiming the team bronze medal.



2013 AUS Cross Country Championship

Women’s Cross Country

Caroline McIlroy led Memorial to a fifth place finish with her individual fourth overall finish in the 6km race on Saturday in Moncton. McIlroy’s time earned her an AUS all-star for the third straight year.


2013 AUS Cross Country All-StarsDeer Lake’s Melissa Hardy won the individual race for StFX with a 22:52 in the field of 55 runners. Dalhousie won the team championship with all five of their scoring runners finishing in the top ten. Hardy, McIlroy (pictured on right in center) and a pair of Dalhousie runners broke free from the pack early. They raced together through the first two kilometres when Hardy pulled ahead for good.


Emily Hickey, a rookie from Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, raced well for the Sea-Hawks coming in 25th place. She was followed by Amanda Wilkins in 28th, Justine O’Leary in 33rd, Stephanie Pomeroy in 37th, Amanda Loveys in 44th and Jessica Besaw in 45th place.


Eight university teams competed in the race.


McIlroy has earned the right to represent Memorial at the CIS Championship in London, Ontario on November 9th.


Men’s Cross Country


The Memorial Sea-Hawks men’s cross country team claimed the AUS bronze medal at the AUS Cross Country Championship in Moncton on Saturday. Jordan Fewer led the Sea-Hawks with a 10th place finish.


John Kuto, representing Saint Mary’s, won the individual race with a time of 32:42 across the 10km race with a field of 49. StFX won the championship banner with four finishers in the top ten.


The Memorial team was quite balanced in their podium finish with three runners in the top twenty. Joining Fewer were Connor Bolton with an 18th overall finish and team captain Mark Hayward in 20th place. Also scoring points for Memorial were Matt Power in 26th place and Jon Allan in 28th place. Rudy Riedlsperger and Mike Scott came across the line in 29th and 34th respectively. Power, Allan and Riedlsperger all finished within .3 of a second.


The Sea-Hawks were behind UNB through the first half but came back to secure their podium finish. Fewer battled from thirteenth place in the final three kilometres to crack the top ten.


Memorial alternate Stephen Pike raced in the 6km open race that took place prior to the AUS meet. Pike finished 4th overall.