Memorial University's best student-athletes honoured in annual Athletic Awards Night

(April 4th, 2013) Memorial University recognized the accomplishments of the top student-athletes, coaches and student trainers who participate in varsity athletics at the 53rd annual Athletic Awards Night on Thursday night at the Holiday Inn. Athletes, coaches, administrators and supporters of the Sea-Hawks were on hand as major award winners were announced. This year’s recipients of the Butler Trophy for the male and female varsity athletes of the year were cross country’s Graham MacDonald and basketball player Grace Fishbein.


Graham MacDonaldGraham MacDonald had an outstanding cross country season in 2012, earning an AUS all-star, winning an AUS race at the Acadia Invitational, and leading his team to a bronze medal at the AUS Championship. MacDonald represented Memorial at the 2012 CIS Cross Country Championship.


Grace FishbeinGrace Fishbein was eighth in the AUS with 15.4 points per game and was Memorial’s most valuable women’s basketball player, finishing among the AUS leaders in field goal percentage, three-point percentage, and steals. She was selected an AUS first team all-star and was named to the AUS Championship all-star team after leading the Sea-Hawks to the semi-finals.


Seven of Memorial’s graduating student-athletes were inducted into the Athletic Honour Society, which recognizes those that have made an outstanding contribution to the athletic program at Memorial University. Election to membership in the Athletic Honour Society is the highest athletic award that can be conferred on a student at Memorial University. This year’s inductees were Kim Devison (basketball), Grace Fishbein (basketball), Ally Forsey (basketball), Chantel Jones (volleyball), Victoria Ralph (Cross Country/Wrestling), Drew Stephens (Volleyball) and, inducted posthumously, Erin Bursey (volleyball).


This year’s recipient of the Dr. J.D. Eaton Coach of the Year Award was the staff of the women’s volleyball team. The Memorial women’s volleyball team overcame adversity this season as they dealt with the tragic loss of team captain Erin Bursey. The staff of Bill Thistle, Karen Murphy, Derek March, Sarah Strickland, and Sarah Chalker all provided leadership on and off the court, leading the team to the AUS semi-finals.


The winner of the Sea~Hawks Cup which recognizes the varsity team that best combines athletics, academics, community initiatives and fitness scores was the women’s volleyball team. The women’s volleyball team was involved in a number of community initiatives including the Terry Fox Run, the MUN Run 5k, the Rotary Read-A-Long Program, and the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation Shoot for the Cure. They were also one of Memorial’s top performing academic varsity teams. The team had an inspired playoff run at home before losing in the AUS semi-final.


Mason JeddoreThe Michael ‘Beecher’ Smith Heart Award is presented annually to the student-athlete that goes above and beyond the call of duty in his or her sport. The award is in memory of Michael Smith, a varsity wrestler who passed away suddenly in January 2007. This year’s recipient was Mason Jeddore of the swimming team. Jeddore is actively involved with Big Brothers Big Sisters, the Best Buddies Program, Let’s Talk Science and the St. John’s Special Olympics. Mason provided leadership on the young Sea-Hawks roster this season and has been a popular teammate during his time as a Sea-Hawk.


The Graham Snow Memorial Award is presented annually to the student who combines prowess in varsity athletics with high academic achievement. This year’s winner of the award was Angela Peddle. Peddle is a scholarship winning nursing student, a standout athlete and most valuable player of the women’s volleyball team and an active volunteer in the community.



Other major award honours awarded during the night included:

• Student Trainer of the Year: Alex Barrett

• Cheerleader of the Year: Jennifer Hiscock

• Jubilee Cup (Most Outstanding Distance Runner): Graham MacDonald

• Soccer Male and Female Most Valuable Players: Maria Oliver and Greg Reid

• John Drinkwater Memorial Trophy (Varsity Swimmer of the Year): David Haines

• Edward P. Browne Memorial Trophy (Outstanding Male and Female Inter-university Basketball Player): Grace Fishbein and Vasilije Curcic

• NLVA Most Valuable Player Awards (Most Valuable Male and Female Varsity Volleyball Players): Angela Peddle and Drew Stephens

• Wrestler of the Year: Breanne Coady



Several scholarship recipients were also recognized during the evening including:

• Damien and Denis Collier Scholarship: Carla Chaytor (wrestling)

• NLSA Soccer Awards: Sean Fardy and Erin Edwards

• Friends of Sea-Hawks Soccer Awards: David Hickey and Maria Oliver

• Elizabeth Dale NLVA Scholarship: Krista Hogan (volleyball)

• Lorne Woolridge NLVA Scholarship: Cody Harvey and Brian Slaney (volleyball)

• ANE Running Club Award: Mark Hayward and Caroline McIlroy

• Harold Squires Scholarship: Emily Jameson (basketball)

• Frank T. Butler Memorial Scholarship: Chantel Jones (volleyball)

• Erin Bursey Memorial Leadership Award: Angela Peddle (volleyball)

• James Bayer Memorial Scholarship: Grace Fishbein (basketball)