Student-Athletes Honoured at Awards Night

Student-Athletes Honoured at Awards Night

Memorial University's top student-athletes honoured in annual Athletic Awards Night

The Memorial University Sea-Hawks honoured the accomplishments of its student-athletes Thursday evening at the 58th Annual Athletic Awards Banquet. The ceremony, held on campus in the Bruneau Centre, saw students, coaches and athletes come together in celebration of the accomplishments from the past year. This year's Butler Trophy winners were Tyler Forsey (Men's Soccer & Track & Field) and Jessie Noseworthy (Women's Soccer).


Forsey, a two-sport athlete, led the men's soccer team in goals, and overall points this season, while also being named an AUS Second Team All-Star. He capped off his athletic season at the 2018 Track & Field Championships with a bronze medal in the 60m sprint. 

Jessie's accomplishments as a Sea-Hawk are well documented and remarkably impressive. She is a 5 time AUS All-Star, 3-time U Sports All-Canadian, AUS Champion, AUS MVP, twice an Academic All-Canadian, the AUS & U Sports Student-Athlete community service award winner, she owns a national scoring title, and is the Sea-Hawks all-time leading scorer.

Five Memorial Athletes were inducted into the Athletic Honour Society, which recognizes outstanding contributions to Memorial Athletics. Being named to the Athletic Honour Society is the highest possible honour that can be bestowed upon a Memorial University Athlete. This year's inductees are the aforementioned Jessie Noseworthy (Soccer), who know joins her mom Kathy Noseworthy, who was inducted in 1982. Also joining Noseworthy are Davion Parnsalu (Basketball), Lindsay Taylor (Basketball), Claire Skanes (Soccer), and Jordi Slaney (Soccer).



Several major awards were handed out on the evening, starting with the Frank T. Butler Scholarship Award. This award recognizes a commitment to athletics, academics, as well as community. This year's winner was Jessie Noseworthy.

The Erin Bursey Memorial Leadership Award is given out annually to the student athlete that best exemplifies the qualities of a leader, both on their team and in the community. This year's winner was Claire Skanes from the women's soccer program. Claire raised the bar for balancing athletics, academics, and the importance of giving back to the community. Winning the AUS student-athlete community service award was a suitable reflection of her overall output. Throughout her years as a Sea-Hawk, she has been a top performer on the AUS turf, in the engineering faculty, and beyond.

Tyler Forsey was honoured with the Michael "Beecher" Smith Award. The award, named after the late Mike Smith, is given to the student-athlete who best exemplifies the qualities Mike Smith is remembered for. It honours the student athlete who goes above and beyond to maintain and foster positivity among their teammates, and within the athletic department in general. Tyler's consistent dedication to his team and to the Memorial Athletics program has been evident throughout his career as a Sea-Hawk. He has grown tremendously over his 5-year career, becoming the ultimate model as to what it means to be a Sea-Hawk.

The Emerging Leaders Awards are given to a male and female varsity athlete who have demonstrated strong leadership skills or leadership potential. The female Emerging Leader Recipient is Sammi Deakin-Sharpe from Women's Basketball, while Davion Parnsalu took home the honour from the men's basketball team.

The Most Valuable Players for each sport were announced, as well. They were as follows:

  • Wrestler of the Year: Dennis Sutton
  • Women's Track and Field: Jennifer Boland
  • Men's Track and Field: Joey Pittman
  • Jubilee Cup (Cross Country): Nick Snow
  • John Drinkwater (Swimming): Veronica Reid
  • Alan Ross (Men's Soccer): Alex Pretty & Tyler Forsey
  • Alan Ross (Women's Soccer): Jessie Noseworthy
  • Volleyball (Women's): Kier Fey
  • Edward P. Browne (Men's Basketball): Daniel Gordon
  • Edward P. Browne (Women's Basketball): Sydney Stewart & Brook Wright